101 Awards 2024: History, Trophies, Prize Money, Criteria for Winning, All Winners Including Patrick Mahomes, Rashee Rice & TJ Watt

Kansas City has a beautiful tradition: the 101 Awards 2024. This award event is hosted by a civic organization called “The Committee of 101” in Kansas City, celebrating professional football achievements. The black-tie affair (traditionally used for ceremonies after 6 p.m.) was started in 1969 by Jack O. Wheeler and others to honor an individual or group for their outstanding work in football.

Each year, 101 members of the national media select the coach of the year, offensive players of the year, and defensive players of the year, from both AFC and NFC. In 2008, they added the Lamar Hunt Award for professional football in memory of the late owner of the Chiefs. This event, now considered to be one of the top award ceremonies in the nation, hosted the 54th Annual NFL Awards ceremony at the Loews Kansas City Convention Center Hotel.

The 54th Annual NFL 101 Awards was hosted on Friday, and as the name suggests 101 members of the national media gave recognition to the NFL coaches and players for their respective awards. Additionally, the Chiefs awards were also recognized on the day, giving away the recognition to Patrick Mahomes for the Derrick Thomas Award (team MVP); and Rashee Rice for the Mack Lee Hill Award (rookie of the year).

On winning the MVP award, QB Mahomes expressed his love for his teammates, saying, “To be nominated by your teammates, that’s the true reward.” On the other hand, Rice demonstrated his eagerness for the next year, enthusiastically highlighting, “By no means are we satisfied with the amazing season that we had this year…we’re ready for next year.”

Apart from them, for other categories, the winners were: Texans’ DeMeco Ryans won AFC Coach of the year; Lions’ Dan Campbell won NFC Coach of the year; Ravens’ Lamar Jackson for AFC Offensive Player; T.J. Watt for AFC Defensive Player; 49ers’ Christian McCaffrey for NFC Offensive Player; and Cowboys’ Micah Parsons for NFC Defensive Player award for the year.

The proceeds and prize money of the Awards go on to benefit Chiefs’ charities. But how are these players selected? Are the stats and performances only the criteria to select them as award recipients?

There are 5 primary criteria for selection!

The 5 primary factors for selection as the recipient award are “Vision: Ideas and foresight into improving the league as a whole; Humble Leadership: Guiding people and plans with an attitude of respect; Integrity: Conducting life with honesty, credibility, and reliability; Fan Dedication: Passion for improving the game day experience for fans; and Innovation: Introducing new concepts to advance the game.”

In total 53 recipients from 1969 to 2023 have won the awards till now each from different categories. Last time for the 2022 season, Doug Pederson (coach of the year) from the Jaguars; Patrick Mahomes(offensive player) from the Chiefs; and Chris Jones (defensive player) from the Chiefs, were the winners of the AFC group. While, Giants’ Brian Daboll (coach); Eagles’ Jalen Hurts (offensive); and 49ers’ Nick Bosa (defensive), won in the NFC group.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Related Posts

Our Privacy policy

https://btuatu.com - © 2024 News